How does damage work with planeswalkers?
Damage. Planeswalkers take damage just like creatures and players do, and they lose loyalty equal to the amount of damage they take. Damage can be dealt to Planeswalkers in two ways: Attacking with creatures: A player can choose to attack a Planeswalker with their creatures instead of attacking another player.
Does damage to a planeswalker count as a player?
Combat damage that is dealt to a planeswalker will not trigger any of the Swords that look for damage to a player. Similarly, noncombat damage that is redirected to a planeswalker is not damaging a player and won’t cause Bloodthirst to “turn on.”
How does planeswalker loyalty work?
The number in the bottom right corner of a planeswalker card is its “loyalty.” A planeswalker enters the battlefield with that many loyalty counters on it, and if it ever has zero loyalty counters, it is put into its owner’s graveyard. Planeswalkers have activated abilities.
Is a planeswalker a player or an opponent?
Planeswalkers are NOT considered players, BUT you can deal damage to them with pillar of flame. If a source you control ever deals damage to a player, you have the choice of redirecting that damage to a planeswalker that player controls. Only non-combat damage, and only if that player is your opponent.
Does target planeswalker mean player?
The Planeswalker redirection rule was implemented in Lorwyn with the introduction of the first Planeswalker cards. The rule states that you cannot directly target a Planeswalker with damage dealing spells—instead, you must target a player and then redirect the damage from that player to a Planeswalker they control.
Can planeswalkers be attacked directly?
Planeswalkers aren’t creatures, so they can’t attack or block. However, planeswalkers can be attacked (directly and indirectly via the redirect of non-combat damage from the player to the planeswalker). 508.1a The active player chooses which creatures that he or she controls, if any, will attack.
How do you add loyalty counters to planeswalkers?
As a general rule, you can add loyalty counters to Planeswalkers by activating a Planeswalker’s loyalty abilities that increase the number of counters on a Planeswalker card. Some Planeswalkers will have abilities with a “+” symbol in the activation cost that will require a player to add counters.
Can you counter proliferate?
You can choose any player that has a counter, including yourself. You can choose any permanent that has a counter, including ones controlled by opponents. You can’t choose cards in any zone other than the battlefield, even if they have counters on them, such as suspended cards or a Lightning Storm on the stack.
Can damage to opponent be redirected to a planeswalker?
Yes. Noncombat damage controlled by opponents can be redirected to a planeswalker you control.
Can planeswalkers be commanders?
A planeswalker can be a commander if the card says that they can be a commander. Most planeswalkers cannot be a commander because the rules committee banned them from being commanders. However, Wizards makes planeswalker cards that can be commanders, so they are the exception.
Can you deal non combat damage to Planeswalkers?
Previously, planeswalkers were subject to a redirection effect that allowed a player to have noncombat damage that would be dealt to an opponent be dealt to a planeswalker under that opponent’s control instead. This rule has been removed and certain cards have received errata in the Oracle card reference to deal damage directly to planeswalkers.
Can Planeswalkers attack you?
Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an ability such as the one from Gideon Jura’s third ability adds the creature type). However, they can be attacked. However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that the player controls.
What is the unique Planeswalker rule in MTG?
Planeswalker cards used to have a similar rule to the ” legend rule “: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This was called the “planeswalker uniqueness rule”.
Is a planeswalker a permanent?
A Planeswalker is a permanent, so when a Planeswalker spell you control resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control. (Note that Planeswalkers are notcreatures.) Anatomy of a Planeswalker Card